Past Presidents


Rasha Shoukani

2016 - 2017 Chapter President 

2015 - 2016 Membership Development


Janelle Schmidt

2016-2017 Past President

2015 - 2016 Chapter President

Midwest Quad Conference Co-Coordinator, 2016-2015

Student Representative, 2013-2014


Sam Doherty

2014 - 2015 Chapter President

2011-2012, 2013-2014 Treasurer

Spring Midwest Quad Conference 2012 Assistant Coordinator

Freedom By Design Volunteer 2010-2015


Meaghan Markiewicz

Served as the LTU AIAS Chapter President for the 2013-2014 school year. She is currently the STEM Program Associate, working jointly between the LTU Marburger STEM Center and the College of Architecture and Design through the Detroit Center for Design and Technology. She graduated from LTU in December 2016 with two Master degrees in Urban Design and Architecture. Her focus throughout her graduate program was a focus on public interest design, community- based projects and education-based initiatives. Projects include a deconstruction project sponsored by the Ford Foundation, a residential feasibility study sponsored by the Eastern Market Corporation and a community design framework project for Clark Park Coalition.  


In 2015, she received her SEED certification under the direction of Brian Bell of the Public Design Institute. Before LTU, Meaghan worked as an assistant project manager for Fusco, Shaffer and Pappas Architects & Planners located in Ferndale, MI. She is also currently working toward becoming a licensed architect and continues to volunteer at the Downtown Youth Boxing Gym as a tutor.